''Freedom had a price'' (Satrapi, 341)

This last  reading of The Complete Persepolis was really intense. After being in Europe for several years, Marjane decided to come back to Iran. Well, it was not just an average ``decision``, she was practically forced to because of the conditions she was in,  in Europe. Before she left Europe, she was a homeless person who traveled around in trains for shelter and, a person who smoked cigarette butts that she would find on the ground. She also almost died from a serious case of untreated bronchitis. At this point in the book, I was thinking ''wow, how could she have let this happen?''. As usual, I stopped reading, put the book down on my lap, flipped to the about-the-author blurb on the back and reminded myself that what I'm reading actually happened. Its hard to imagine that the picture of the smiling Marjane Satrapi (who, in my opinion, looks so sophisticated) is the same person who was in a very financially disadvantaged (to be politically correct) state.

Thankfully, she makes it back to Iran. Although Iran is generally viewed as the country with all the problems, I honestly felt more comfortable reading about her dangerous life in Iran than her ''sketchy, druggy, punk'' (to be politically incorrect) life in Europe.

Clearly, Marjane and her family did not agree, so, once again, she moves to Europe again (for the last time). This part of the book is really sad. Even though she had already left her family once, it is worse this time because I knew she would never come back. On the last page, as she says her final goodbyes, she says ``and my grandma was there happily.. since..1994, I only saw her again once. She died January 4th, 1996.. Freedom had a price...'' (341, Satrapi) In Marjane's case, she left the repressive country of Iran for freedom in Europe, but had to leave family members and other things she loved behind. The price that she payed here, is that for freedom, she had to leave behind her grandma, who died shortly after. This part was also the last page of the book. I wanted to keep reading and find something that could cheer me up, but nothing could. At least this was a good slap in the face from reality. In real life you cant go back and you cant keep reading, because somethings just end. 

But anyways! Overall this book was great in so many ways! Im very excited (well excited as one could be for having to do more school work) to present to the class why I think this book is a good one to read and study for ENG4U! This is also my last blog post..so goodbye to who ever/if anyone is reading this! And remember to check out ''About the Author'' in the top right corner!

And as for the people in my group, COMMENT!! :)
6/9/2013 10:50:33 pm

I agree with you! I also thought that the last 4 words on the very last page "Freedom had a price" brought everything to meaning, everything that had happened to Marji through out her stay in Austria. I also go frustrated how quickly she changed, with the boyfriend, and the drugs ect. She just seemed to have a stronger character than that. what do you think?

Reply
Luke
6/9/2013 11:26:32 pm

Im just gonna go and agree with everything you said there. Haha, that's what I think. I thought the last page was really sad especially after reading those 4 words... did you think it was sad?

Reply
Harry
6/13/2013 11:57:32 am

Much like Jack, I also agree with you, your second paragraph in particular. For some reason I found reading Marji's experiences in Austria to be very painful, as opposed to her experiences in Iran. I think it was because she was ruining her life in Austria, and in Iran, most of the problems were caused by Iran itself (aka: The government, the people, the war victims, etc).

Uhhh, quick question, in your "Clearly, Marjane and her family did not agree, so...", what do you mean by "did not agree"? I thought Marji's reason for leaving Iran was because she had to leave in order to be safe when she...umm yah know. When did they have any form of disagreement?

Reply
Harry
6/13/2013 12:02:07 pm

&$%#!

I meant Dana, not Jack. When i see you reply, it's almost always back to Jack, and I only assumed that you replied to Jack once again (Boy, was I wrong).

Reply
Luke
6/13/2013 12:26:38 pm

Hahahah, I saw that, and I was thinking ''Jack never said anything...'' lol. Glad you cleared it up

Luke
6/13/2013 12:30:16 pm

Its true. The challenges she faced in Iran were caused by things she had no control over, but like you said, in Austria, she was doing it to herself.

And sorry if that part was not clear! I said ''I honestly felt more comfortable reading about her dangerous life in Iran comapred to Europe'' and then said her parents didnt agree. So its not that they agree when it comes to reading about it (obviously..) but they disagreed with me when it came to where Marjane was to live. I like Iran as a place for her to be in, but her parents like Europe (because they sent her there). Does that make more sense?

Reply
Jack
6/16/2013 02:12:13 am

I think maybe the reason it felt like it was more dangerous in Austria because she had no parents or family to support her, like she had no safety net to fall in to. I guess this is the same problem that many immigrants face.

Luke
6/16/2013 04:47:40 am

Thats true... except for immigrants in Sweden and any other ''welfare state'' with open immigration.

Dana
6/14/2013 07:26:37 am

I did think it was sad too Luke! I'm not entirely sure if i like the ending.. it was abrupt and unsatisfying! What did you think Harry?

Reply
Luke
6/14/2013 11:15:28 am

It was so sad! As soon as I read it, I was like ''NOO!'' and wished there was more... youre right. It was no satisfying at all...

Reply
Luke
6/14/2013 11:16:20 am

I want to know what happened to her in Europe when she went back again. It probably is not that different from what happened the first time..

Jack
6/16/2013 02:13:25 am

Ya like I really wanted to know what happened in her life, like does she become famous and write a book or something. So many unanswered questions.

Reply
Luke
6/16/2013 02:16:17 am

Hahahahahahah, yeah I wonder.. no actually though, I want to know what happened to her in ''depth'. Or as much depth as her book has to offer.

Smith
2/24/2014 11:34:36 pm

Beautiful story. I read it to my younger daughter. Its intense but has a wonderful meaning!

Reply



Leave a Reply.

    About The Author

    I was born into a wealthy, landowning merchant family on October 17th 1816 in a town called Fabriano in Northern Italy. Click on ''About The Author'' on the top right corner to find out more!

    Persepolis was a former capital situated 70 km northeast of the modern city of Shiraz in Iran.

    Image Credit: http://persia.org