After reading about Marjane's experiences in Austria, and the culture change she faced. I have become interested in the culture change Iran has been through. The Complete Persepolis describes the change in Iranian culture do to the change in regime. It went from a Western-influenced dynasty to an Islamic Republic. Since After looking more into Iranian history/culture I have seen a huge change in their music.  The video below was the national anthem of Iran before the Islamic Revolution of 1979.
Portion of the lyrics from Iran's old anthem (dynasty):

Oh homeland, my homeland Listen to the pain of my words I am the nightingale of this garden All my body and soul  All with one name and symbol With different colors and languages

If you compare the old anthem (above) to the the new, post-Islamic Revolution anthem (below)  you can notice a big change. The new anthem is less about the homeland and people and more about God.

Portion of the lyrics from Iran's new anthem (Islamic Republic):

The month of Bahman is the brilliance of our Faith. Your message, O Imam, of Independence and Freedom is imprinted on our souls. O Martyrs! Your clamours echo in the ears of time: Enduring, continuing, eternal, The Islamic Republic of Iran.
Does this change in music interest anyone else?

Anthems From:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/First_Iranian_national_anthem
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/National_Anthem_of_the_Islamic_Republic_of_Iran
Luke
6/13/2013 12:23:43 pm

Thanks for all the comments :'( </3

Reply
Jack
6/16/2013 02:09:06 am

Man that first song was my jam. The second one reminded me of like the soviet anthem in a way, or like a country with a big military because of the male choir.

Reply
Luke
6/16/2013 04:44:32 am

Yeah I actually really like the first one.. Not gonna lie.. I downloaded it as an Mp3 file and now its on my phone. The second one, yeah, I know what you mean. It also was not as good.

Mikey
6/14/2013 11:20:31 am

Hey, I stumbled upon your site. I really like it! Ive never actually read this book but I think I'll go out now and read it. Its cool how you compared the different songs from Iran
- Mikey P

Reply
Luke
6/16/2013 01:59:21 am

Hey Mikey P,

Im glad you like my blog and you should, its a really good book! and yes, its amazing what can change with one revolution.

Luke

Reply



Leave a Reply.

    About The Author

    I was born into a wealthy, landowning merchant family on October 17th 1816 in a town called Fabriano in Northern Italy. Click on ''About The Author'' on the top right corner to find out more!

    Persepolis was a former capital situated 70 km northeast of the modern city of Shiraz in Iran.

    Image Credit: http://persia.org